asfensunrise.blogg.se

Western digital my book essential 1tb external usb 2.0
Western digital my book essential 1tb external usb 2.0









western digital my book essential 1tb external usb 2.0
  1. #WESTERN DIGITAL MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL USB 2.0 HOW TO#
  2. #WESTERN DIGITAL MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL USB 2.0 DRIVERS#
  3. #WESTERN DIGITAL MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL USB 2.0 DRIVER#
  4. #WESTERN DIGITAL MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL USB 2.0 SOFTWARE#
  5. #WESTERN DIGITAL MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL USB 2.0 PLUS#

My other "complaint" - and not a big deal - is that they seem to run unusually hot, and their little external power adapters run *really* hot, which I believe will shorten their life span. Large backups consistently take almost twice as long on the WD than on any of my other USB drives (24 total), and 4 times longer than my fastest USB drives. In fact, data transfer on these devices is only about 15% faster than my Mxxxor "network shared storage" drives (400GB each, connected via 10/100 ethernet).

western digital my book essential 1tb external usb 2.0

60% of the throughput of my other external USB drives. Upon initial setup, I tested bandwidth and found both devices almost identical to each other (a good thing), but could only achieve approx. Both devices worked properly upon installation. Overall Review: I purchased 2 of the 500GB drives, to compliment my already large assortment of Mxxxor and Bxxxink devices. They tent to "forget" their on/off state, which is supposed to be automatic. Pros: Good storage GB/per$, nice form factor (subjective I suppose).Ĭons: Very slow compared to other external USB drives, throughtput is approximately 60% of that of Mxxxor and Buslink devices I own. Kinda bummed that newegg dropped the price 2 days after I bought this one. Overall a fantastic purchase - I will be buying more.

#WESTERN DIGITAL MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL USB 2.0 HOW TO#

Had to format to NTFS, but that's no big deal - takes less than a minute (WD has a walkthrough for this in the support documentation if you don't know how to do it).

#WESTERN DIGITAL MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL USB 2.0 SOFTWARE#

The included Google software is nothing to write home about. I found some software on WD's site that lets you customize this drive (front button operation, time to spin-down, etc.). Overall Review: There is some "spin-up" time once you access the drive after a period of inactivity, but it's not all that bad. I hope the other reviewers that had this problem had a chance to try this before returning a perfectly good drive. I experimented a bit, and I could reproduce the problem by plugging it into a power strip with lots of other devices, and the problem went away as soon as I plugged it in by itself or on a less crowded power strip. BINGO! As soon as I did that it was recognized again and come to think of it I *had* plugged more stuff into that power strip when the drive quit working. I did an internet search and found a posting where someone had my exact problem, called WD and was told to plug it into the wall directly.

#WESTERN DIGITAL MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL USB 2.0 DRIVER#

XP SP2 had no driver for it, and neither did WD's site (that I could find). XP would only recognize a "USB Device" and then launch the driver wizard. My tower didn't have USB2, so I bought one of these at the same time and still spent less than whatĬons: The drive worked initially, but then suddenly and seemingly without reason stopped working. Maybe he's only using usb1? Maybe try defragging? I'm only using this drive as backup, but wanted to try it anyway. My mp3's don't 'skip' when I play them from the drive (like one reviewer noted). Runs very quiet and cool - after 2.5hrs of nonstop data transfer it was barely warm. It's much smaller than I expected from the photos, about as tall as a dollar bill. The auto on/off works with both my laptop and tower.

#WESTERN DIGITAL MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL USB 2.0 PLUS#

Power cord is longer than average, plus the plug is standard size (the adapter is inline) so it doesn't hog up a bunch of space at the outlet. Linux Defender mounted it no problem, BartPE picks it up too (great for a recepticle in data recovery). XP recognizes it off the bat and you're good to go.

#WESTERN DIGITAL MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL USB 2.0 DRIVERS#

Pros: Works as advertised, truly "plug-n-play" - no drivers to load, nothing to mess around with. High quality hard drive - Inside the case is an exceptionally fast, ultra quiet, cool-running hard drive from Western Digital.įree Google software - Search your drive, manage your photos, and simplify Web searches with included Google software.Īdditional Information Date First Available Smart design - The elegant case, iconic of a book, takes up less space on your desk, stacks horizontally, and allows two or more drives to stand neatly together like volumes on a shelf. Intelligent drive management features - The My Book drive turns itself on and off with your computer Plug it into your computer’s USB 2.0 port and start saving. Learn more about the Western Digital WDG1U5000N Model BrandĮasy to set up, easy to use - This drive is all about simplicity.











Western digital my book essential 1tb external usb 2.0